05
Aug
13

My Way to…

oh! my god..its 9.10 i am horribly late..the words screamed in my mind..rushed towards the gate…mom screamed from behind ” go safe!!pray before you leave”…i just nod my head to answer.Rushing through the street…walking as fast as possible to catch hold of the train to Sealdah. Some curious eyes on the street are struggling a lot…specially few who likes to keep an eye everyday but dare to come and confront. They will just look and will give a sheepish smile…. my mind again screams ,,DISGUSTING!! I am almost running to catch the train…then very next moment,jumping, gliding and finally i caught the rod….oh!!!what a relief..its 9.15 by 9.35 i will be at the main station…then bus…then again…gosh!! suddenly a break… what happened?!! why the train stopped shit!!..i am going to be late…staring at my watch my heart started to beat fast….my mind screamed again…idiot driver!! but to my surprise…the big serpent started to move again.. OK again another hasty calculation… 9.40…then again bus..that’s 10….hopefully…will catch the train…hmm!!!now as the journey has started in the big serpents stomach i am trying to divert my mind and enjoy the scenery and my cell phone vibrates…one of the Facebook notifications…Park circus..oops!!push!!why the people can;t behave little more civilized, another push!! I had to tell one of the fat aunty “ektu thik hoye daran ami pore jaboto” ( aunty please stand straight or else I will fall) She gave a frown looks as if doing a favour to me. Again a break….hopeless….at 9.41 the train glided and reached the station. i jumped and rushed toward the main entrance. omg!! the bus is going run..run ..run….yes…got. Its packed…i screamed…””arey dada bhetore dhukun…ekhane lok uthte parchena…”” somehow I managed to get inside and pulled the bag to the upper rack…15 minutes more…that’s comes to 10.05… its going to be bad….I have nothing to do rather wait… while travelling in the bus weird imagination is crossing my mind, what if i don`t get that train…then i have to go by local train and it will 3 hours,,,my heart mourned…and I silently cursed the driver!!9.50 central…another 10 minutes.  Again speaking in mind that may be  I can get through… again traffic 9.53 at Dalhousie…my heart started to beat faster… with a sad face I reminded again that I will miss the train. A big traffic jam is ahead…the bus crossed telephone office… many of them got down, seeing an empty bus suddenly it seemed that the steel body also relieved from the overload…I tried to imagine what if  the bus had a face..what kind of expressions it would have gave on and off, a smile came to my face…suddenly i got aware of some curious eye. The conductor comes, i handed him a ten rupee note,,the same old drama…””didi khuchro din. (sister give change)”” and my usual answer “”khuchro nei( I have no change)“”then with a hopeless and irritating face he hands me the ticket and balance…9.58…my heart started beating faster,,,canning street ,,,fairly place and now into the giant bridge..the scene here is so beautiful…river looks so fabulous with a soothing scenario…i wish i could enjoy the scene little more…but no…now i have to rush…with these thoughts i grab my bag and come near to the gate…the bus turns towards the station…the conductor shouts “neme jann gari ghurbe””( get down the bus will turn around) jumping from the bus I started to rush towards the station…few people commented mocking to me…”arey aste ,,tara kiser”( go slow dear…whats your hurry) I gave them  a stern look and ran towards the station… 10.07…3 minutes…run..run… cutting all the odds obstructing the way… the last announcement came half to my ear”…the train would leave from platform no….at 10.10 hours..10.09..run..run… i have to get into D1 compartment…the driver is ready…the train whistled…10.10…. yessssssssssss!!!got it!! …phewwwwwwwwwww!!…looked for a seat…asked one uncle..””ekhane keu ache??”” (Is anyone here?) he nod to say no…grabbing the seat with a relief…my phone vibrates…and a known call..my dad…i just say “”ha train peyechi (yes i got the train)…the other ends says thikache (alright)…”” call ends 15 secs…my father, he is awesome at managing time…the train started…its too hot today, i am totally soaked…making a quick calculation again that I will reach my destination by 11.45…so now I can relax…I took out a book and started to read. At 10.30…my phone vibrates again….struggling with my jeans pocket…11.10 at my watch…by 11.30 in to the station then,,,bus and finally to my destination..suddenly I saw the person sitting beside me looking at me, i gave him a nosy look ..and again got in to the book….11.25…the train is in the car shed area… packing my bags,I went in front of the gate. I got down from the train and started to walk toward the bus stand…my destination bus is standing right there among the  big rally of other buses..seeing the condition of the bus i got traumatized…its packed…the conductor said “”uthe jaan ekdom fanka ache (get up the bus is empty)and tried to relate as whats his””fanka ache ” (empty bus) means actually?? with hopeless feeling…I boarded the bus and struggled for a place..i handed my bag to one aunty. With every stop the bus conductor would pick up more passenger and would say “”pechone cholun ,,,fanka bus”” the people in the bus would scream at him …but he has no regret…all he care about how to earn more fare..by toiling and struggling for 15 minutes..i finally reach my destination. After I got down from the bus…i feel that i stepped into new life…handed the fare to the conductor and started walking towards my class….yes this is my journey from my home to my university..!!!

1 Response to “My Way to…”


  1. 1 Papri
    August 29, 2013 at 5:06 am

    its awesum….fantabulous….!!!…keep it up dear….


Leave a Reply

